The Seven Principles of Kwanzaa – Nguzo Saba

Kwanzaa, created by Dr. Maulana Karenga in 1965 is a celebration of Family, Community, and Culture.It is celebrated from December 26 to January 1. The celebration honors African heritage in African-American culture, culminating in a feast and gift-giving.
Kwanzaa has seven core principles (Nguzo Saba). It was first celebrated in 1966–67.

Umoja – Unity.
To strive for and maintain unity in the family, community, nation and race

Kujichagulia – Self determination.
To define ourselves, name ourselves, create for ourselves and speak for ourselves

Ujima – Collective work and responsibility
To build and maintain our community together and make our brother’s and sister’s problems our problems and to solve them together.

Ujamaa – Cooperative Economics
To build and maintain our own stores, shops and other businessesand to profit from them together

Nia – Purpose
To make our collective vocation the building and developing of our community in order to restore our people to their traditional greatness.

Kuumba – Creativity
To do always as much as we can, in order to leave our community more beautiful and beneficial than we inherited it.

Imani – Faith
To believe with all our heart in our people, our parents, our teachers, our leaders and the righteousness and victory of our struggle.

This year’s theme is “Practicing the Culture of Kwanzaa:Living The Seven Principles”


Posted by on Dec 16 2014. Filed under Community News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply